Technology/Software

How to deactivate a Facebook account or delete FB permanently

how to deactivate a Facebook account

This step by step quide on how to deactivate a Facebook account also outlines how to delete a Facebook account and how to get your Facebook data.

Find more technology guides, tips and advice

How to deactivate a Facebook account: reasons

There are many reasons to deactivate a FB account or even delete your Facebook account completely. Even when it was founded in 2004, there were disputes regarding the rights to the idea and source code of the social network, which Marc Zuckerberg put online under the name TheFacebook . Fellow students accused him of allegedly stealing their idea of ​​a social network called HarvardConnection. The court agreed with them at the time. So the cornerstone of integrity had crumbled from the start.

Regardless of whether it is about the fact that Facebook users tend to develop more social envy and stress, some even become addicted to social media, or that Facebook founder Marc Zuckerberg is trying to get a foot in the door in China with censorship concessions: The reasons for deactivating or deleting Facebook for good range from the small private to the big political. The recent case of the unlawful use of data on a good 50 million Facebook accounts by Cambridge Analytica reminds many users of why they wanted to end Facebook for a long time.

Many know that Facebook reserves the rights to all content. It has also been vaguely heard of Facebook selling profile data and friend lists to advertisers. But how far does this network stretch? Which apps that you use on Facebook or that you log into with Facebook have access to which data? Before you delete your Facebook account, it is worth taking a look at the Facebook app settings. To do this, go to the settings using the downward pointing arrow in the blue horizontal menu barThere click on Apps in the sidebarYou can see wherever you are logged into apps with Facebook.

Here you can set whether you want to use your Facebook account at all to log into third-party applications. Another setting determines which of your data friends can pass on to third parties if these friends use third-party apps. There was no such option in 2014. 

At that time, a personality test supposedly created for academic purposes tapped the data of millions of users via the friends list from users who completed the test voluntarily passed on their data, which also included the profile data of their ignorant contacts. Cambridge Analytica later used the data to show American Facebook users targeted political news and thus influence the presidential election.

Many Facebook users then decided to delete their account. If you don’t want to go that far, you should at least carefully adjust the constantly changing data protection settings for your own profile, or follow our steps for how to deactivate a Facebook account, until you are sure you want to delete it.

At least since the Cambridge Analytica data scandal, it should also have become clear to the last Facebook fan that personal data on the network could be at risk at any time. But it is not just concerns about further data leaks that trigger many people to consider parting with Facebook. Annoying algorithms, constant notifications or the social pressure associated with the platform are probably some good reasons for Facebook fatigue. If you don’t feel like it anymore, you can permanently delete your Facebook account. We’ll show you how it works – and of course how you can save the accumulated data beforehand. In addition, with the account deactivation, we are showing a veritable alternative to the complete withdrawal from Facebook with how to deactivate FB account.

First back up your data

Before you follow the steps below for how to disable Facebook or delete your account, the most important personal data from the network should be saved. In fact, Facebook offers the option to request all of the uploaded data. As the world’s data octopus, Facebook really saves everything you have done on the network in the course of your career. The good news: you can request the complete data and download it to your computer. In addition to all the photos and videos that you have uploaded to Facebook, the network then also provides a lot of other data. For example, you can retrace your entire Facebook history via the HTML database or view a list of your likes. Even rejected friend requests can be found in the personal Facebook archive.

How to download the data from your Facebook account:

1. Log into Facebook. Here click on the small arrow next to your profile in the upper right corner and select ” Settings ” in the menu that opens .
2. Switch to the ” Your Facebook information ” area on the left .
3. Next to the line ” Your information Download ” on the ” reputation “.
4. On this page you can now select in detail which data you want to download and the form in which it should be processed. Usually you can just leave the default settings. The complete Facebook data is processed here as HTML files.
5. If you are satisfied with the selection, click on ” Create file “. The data is not available immediately. Instead, you will receive an email as soon as the download is complete. With our account, the mail came after a few minutes, but in practice it can take longer.
6. Click the download link in the mail . After entering your Facebook password , this leads to a ZIP archive with your data . Download the file and extract it to your hard drive.
7. You will find the ” Index.html ” file in the unzipped folder . Click on this to see an overview of all the activities that you have been involved in in your Facebook life.

The data is clearly sorted according to categories. Regardless of this, you can of course also browse the folder directly. This is structured logically so that, for example, all videos are in the subfolder of the same name.

How to deactivate a Facebook account: step-by-step

If you are not sure whether you want to use Facebook again in the near future, you can first deactivate your profile instead of deleting it completely. Your data will remain saved, but can no longer be viewed by anyone.

how to deactivate a Facebook account
  1. Log in to Facebook and click on the settings symbol (gear) at the top right of the screen. A menu appears in which you select the item “Account Settings”. Now go to the menu item “Security” on the left edge of the screen. There you will see the link “Deactivate your account” at the very bottom.
  2. Facebook is now pressing hard on the lacrimal gland: You will be shown a few friends that you will probably miss a lot on Facebook. If that doesn’t impress you, you can now enter the reason for the account deactivation. You will also be asked whether you really want to stop receiving emails from Facebook. You should check this box, otherwise Facebook will regularly send you emails so that you can reactivate.
  3. Finally click on the “Confirm” button and your account is deactivated. Should you decide to reactivate it, a normal log-in to Facebook is sufficient.

How to delete a Facebook account permanently

If you want to delete your Facebook account completely, you can search for a long time in the settings. You can only reach the appropriate option via this Facebook link.

  1. You are now offered to temporarily deactivate Facebook. You should select this if you want to continue using Facebook Messenger.
  2. However, if you click on the “Delete account” button below, your entire Facebook account and all stored data will be deleted.
  3. Follow the further instructions and confirm the process with your password. You will then be logged out.
  4. However, the deletion does not take effect immediately, but only after a period of 14 days. If you log into your account again within this period, the deletion process will be canceled.
  5. After the deadline, it can take up to 90 days for all data to be removed.